Future of Severely Affected Land - FOSAL

How the provisional categories have been assessed

Following the devastating impact of Cyclone Gabrielle, the Government announced a system of land categorisations to deal with the risks from future severe weather events on affected properties. Provisional maps were developed showing which category affected properties in our region may fall under.

Provisional assessments are only the start of the process. Each property is unique and influenced by a range of different factors. The preliminary maps are likely to change after further hazard assessment work is carried out. Some properties within Category 2A could shift out of the FOSAL framework, or move to Category 2C or 2P or move to Category 3.

Provisional land categories

In June, around 1880 preliminary initial assessment letters were sent to Category 2 and 3 property owners.

In mid-October following property assessments, over 1000 Category 2A properties were removed from the FOSAL framework. We sent a second letter to all Category 2 property owners, to advise that they had either been removed or remained in Category 2A.

In November assessments of Category 2 properties continues. Property owners will be advised by letter once provisional categories are refined - this could mean moving to 2P or 2C, or Category 3, or if the property is removed from the FOSAL framework.

Land category map for our district

The maps shows the land categories. The number of affected properties currently identified in our region are:

  • Category 3 - 60 properties, this number may increase as further assessments are made.
  • Category 2A - 487 properties.

In support of the Government’s Cyclone Recovery Taskforce, Gisborne District Council has been working on which areas should be placed into each category. The risk assessment process was based on data from Council, Ministry for the Environment and insurance claims data.

The Government classification of property risks is separate to Council’s red and yellow sticker assessments. We are still awaiting details from Central Government around this policy and classification. These classifications could still change after further hazard assessment work is carried out. Some properties could shift within Category 2, or even be shifted to Category 3 or 1.

More information by land category